Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 

What I've Been Up To - Nadine Blewett

Life is so eventful at times. I have been absent from blogging for a little while due to me living life and I mean REALLY living my life and embracing many positive changes.

What I’ve Been Up To - Nadine Blewett

In many ways, I feel like I am a new person. I actually went camping in a tent for an entire weekend. If any of you reading this know me well you will know why that fact is both hilarious and a miracle all in one. I enjoy my comforts in life and camping lacks far too many of those comforts yet, even when I was so cold that I sacrificed my fashion sense to wear socks with flip-flops, I enjoyed myself. I camped with wonderful people at Goudini Spa which is a lovely resort approximately an hour away from the part of Cape Town I stay in. There are hot pools and many wonderful activities which I certainly embraced. I left the camp dirtier than I had ever been before but it was an adventure and one that my friends are proud of me for embracing. (They wouldn’t have believed that I went camping if they weren’t there with me)

I have been spending quite a lot of time with them over the last while. If not being severely under-dressed in a fancy cocktail lounge in town, we spent time together over homemade pizza and met on the ice rink. I don’t go out and spend nights out on the town very often but my friends like their adventures and I have been enjoying the change from being home. I love being home but through these experiences I have learned that I adore being out too. I enjoy the mystery of where we will end up and I love the company I keep.

Other than that, I have started a new job. I have never loved earning my money as much as I do at the moment. I work in an evening-wear boutique now which couldn’t be more me. Evening-wear has been a great passion of mine for as long as I can remember. As a young girl, I would spend hours drawing ball gowns and planning for balls which were far into my future. On my blog, you have followed as I designed two dresses and had them made for events. I believe that is partly why I am enjoying this job so much. It does have a slight design element to it too as the company I work for has their own factory and designer right here in Cape Town where all the clothing in the store is taken from concept to reality. My job is somewhat like playing dress-up with the customers. They ask my opinion on what dresses I think could work on them, they try them on and show me to see what I think. I get asked advice on what accessories and shoes to pair with dresses too. Oh, I love it! I am incredibly happy where I am now.

What I’ve Been Up To - Nadine Blewett

I have also applied to university again and, God-willing, I will start studying towards my degree in the middle of this year. Here’s to hoping. I have spent a lot of time running up and down lately to prepare myself for whatever might come during the rest of the year.

I am in a gifting mood at the moment too. Does anyone else do that where you feel like buying presents so you go nuts and start buying everyone birthday gifts and planning gifts for holidays or special days even though those events are months away? I have been doing that lately. My justification is that I won’t have to stress about finding something later but I am just enjoying getting the things together. Of course, I have been gifting myself in the process too.

What have you been up to lately?

InstagramTwitter

