Tags

, , , , , , ,

Review: L’Oréal Volume Million Mascara - Nadine Blewett

Once my beloved Clinique Extreme High Impact mascara dried out it was time to find a replacement at the drugstore. I tend to alternate between high-end and drugstore mascaras in order to placate my budge. They also had 30% off on L’Oréal mascaras at my local drugstore so it was a no-brainer especially since I have loved every L’Oréal mascara I have tried in the past.

Review: L’Oréal Volume Million Mascara - Nadine Blewett

The packaging on the L’Oréal Volume Million mascara is beautiful. It looks a lot more expensive than it actually is which is something which seems common with L’Oréal products. Their packaging is generally very classy.

The brush is also the size I tend to like on a mascara wand; not too big but not tiny either. Considering that, the name and its built-in mechanism to remove excess product from the wand I had high hopes for this mascara but it turned out to be the first L’Oréal mascara I don’t like of those I have tried.

What I don’t like about this product:

The first reason is probably partly because my lashes certainly aren’t anything spectacular but I expect a mascara with a name such as ‘Volume Million’ to give me beautiful, voluminous lashes but this does hardly anything for them at all.

Images above (left to right): No mascara, one coat and two coats.

My lashes are generally quite sparse and they aren’t very long either so I tend to look for a mascara which does both. As you can see, with one coat of mascara it barely looks like I have something on my lashes and with two coats it still isn’t good enough for me.

You can build it, yes, but that brings me to my next problem with this mascara; it is an incredibly wet formula which takes a while to dry. If I accidentally knock my lashes while doing my other make-up it gets absolutely all over my hand. I don’t mind a mascara being slightly wet but since I tend to build my mascaras quite a lot that is an inconvenience for me. I don’t like getting make-up all over my hands. Also, as a contact lens wearer, the wet formula occasionally manages to get in my eye and if you wear contact lenses you will know how that burns and generally means you have to take your lens out.

I wouldn’t go as far as saying this is a bad mascara. I am sure there will be people out there who like mascaras like this but I am incredibly fussy when it comes to mascara and I practically expect it to move mountains.

This is what I like my lashes to look like and I only got to this point after four coats of the Volume Million and then, since I still wasn’t satisfied, I used another mascara I actually like over it:

Review: L’Oréal Volume Million Mascara - Nadine Blewett

What is your favourite drugstore mascara?

InstagramTwitter

