Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A letter to my best friends - Nadine Blewett

(Image Credit: Pinterest)

My dearest best friends

I know there is no way I could possibly thank you enough for all you have done for me. There aren’t words to describe how much I appreciate you but I hope this will lend some perspective to you.

Over the years, I have lost many people to changes the passage of time insists upon but you remained at my side. You are the ones who put up with all the trials of being my friend; my moods which tend to go up-and-down more often than a fish swims, my crazy moments when I can’t stop laughing even though I am often not sure what I am laughing at and my angrier, take-no-nonsense side which is probably rather terrifying. You know of these crazy ways of mine yet you stay.

Our friendship might not be the oldest but it seems the truest in many ways. You were the ones who were there when I was falling apart. You are the ones who volunteered to hold the broken pieces together when I thought I could never be whole again. You drove out to me at all hours to make sure I was okay and you made me laugh when I had forgotten what my laugh sounded like. No one has been there like that for me before you.

You, more than anyone, know how to make any day amazing. A day which otherwise holds no significance on an ordinary calendar becomes one of the most treasured days of the year when it is just spent with you.

Your company is the kind that requires no garnishes to be enjoyed. We never need to do anything together; just talking is enough and that is something incredibly rare. You remind me that I am never alone and you listen no matter how irrational I sound.

A part of me thinks that I didn’t know what true friendship was before you showed me. I didn’t know that people went to so much trouble for the ones they care about. My definition was distorted by previous experiences but no more!

You are the kindest, most loving people I have ever had the honour to get to know. You are true diamonds amongst fake gems. That’s rather cheesy, I know, but I suspect it might make you smile and your smile brings me life. It’s warm and welcoming… It makes everyone else look at you with the same awe I feel in your presence.

Also, you actually find me funny which is a rare commodity in this world and, yes, it does go to my head. I am honoured to be the reason behind your hearty laughter on occasion.

I want you to know that you mean the world to me. You are exceedingly special… You are the light this world needs to redeem itself and I am proud to have you in my life. I am proud of you.

Thank you for being part of what makes life so beautiful, thank you for being there for me and thank you for being my best friend.

I am so honoured to have you at my side.

With love,

Nadine

InstagramTwitter

