Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick – 168 and 169 - Nadine Blewett

I have been a lover of Chanel products since the first time my face was graced by their brilliance; I was fifteen years old and about to attend a ballet eisteddfod with only two lipsticks, a mascara, a hopeless eyeshadow palette and a liquid liner to my name in terms of make-up. It certainly wasn’t enough to provide me with the confidence I needed for a solo stage performance.

That was when a lovely, and incredibly talented, make-up artist at a local Chanel counter took me under his wing and made me feel like I could take on the world’s weight. He turned my child-like face into a womanly façade with a dramatic smokey eye and crimson lips. His passion for the products he used on my face made me leave the counter with an epic love for those same cosmetics especially when it comes to their lipsticks.

Chanel Rouge Allure lipstick – 168 – Rouge Ingénue

I can quite confidently say Rouge Ingénue is my favourite lipstick I have ever owned. It is very subtle but somehow once I have applied it my entire make-up look seems elevated. It is as if it brightens my face. This lipstick doesn’t last too long on the lips but the texture is so amazing that it doesn’t bother me to reapply it at all. Besides, who doesn’t want to pull a lipstick packaged this beautifully out of their handbag?

It is an incredibly lightweight lipstick. It glides onto the lips with its beautifully creamy consistency, looks stunning and is so wonderfully comfortable that it feels like you don’t really have anything on your lips.

Review: Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick – 168 and 169 - Nadine Blewett

Review: Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick – 168 and 169 - Nadine Blewett

Chanel Rouge Allure lipstick – 169 – Rouge Tentation

If you have been visiting here for a while you will know that I am no stranger to a red lip. Although I don’t wear beautifully bold lipsticks even half as often as I used to, I will forever have a soft spot for a gorgeous red lipstick. Rouge Tentation is that wonderful classic blue-toned red which is a remnant of Monroe and looks amazing on most skin tones.

This lipstick is stunning! I love the colour and, much like Rouge Ingénue, it lives up to that beautiful quality which tends to be standard for Chanel products. Strangely enough, this bold shade seems to last longer than my beloved Rouge Ingénue. I have managed to stretch Rouge Tentation to six hours of wear whereas I tend to only get about two hours wear from its nude counterpart. There is a flame as bright as this red which is burning within my heart.

Review: Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick – 168 and 169

Review: Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick – 168 and 169 - Nadine Blewett

Pros:

  • The texture on these lipsticks is beautiful.
  • The packaging: Who wouldn’t love a lipstick that opens by means of a button-type mechanism? It is sleek and, of course, we have the striking CC logo which no one could ever mistake for a brand other than Chanel.
  • These lipsticks are pure luxury in every way.
  • They are quite moisturising and comfortable on the lips.

Cons:

  • The lighter colour doesn’t last too long on the lips.
  • They come with a very luxurious price tag.

Conclusion:

I feel sorry for my bank account because I have no doubt in my mind that I would repurchase these lipsticks (Particularly Rouge Ingénue) and possibly have a look at the rest of the collection.

What is your favourite luxury lipstick?

InstagramTwitter

