Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Cinderella Again

When a day that feels truly magical comes along I suppose we seldom expect another day quite as extraordinary to grace us with its presence in the future. I, however, was given the opportunity to relive one of the most wonderful days of my life in a new dress, at a new venue and in a different car as my carriage for the evening.

Cinderella Again

How lucky can a woman be?
I have always had a hunger for glamour. I have always been the girl at school who no one seemed to understand as they couldn’t fathom why I dressed so formally or could spend hours on heels at the sacrifice of comfort but, to me, it was the best part of my day to put an outfit together and throw on a pair of heels. I was repeatedly living out my passion for what probably looked slightly over-the-top on a teenager. My love for fashion never left and I still find myself enjoying being pampered and dressing up.

I speak of my teenage years as if I am no longer a teenager yet I only turn twenty in January. I suppose I have never really felt like a teenager although when I look back on my earlier teenage years I cringe at some of my ways.

This is turning into a bit of a senseless ramble now. This post is truly about me getting to attend another ball this year. In South Africa, at the end of our school careers we have something that is somewhat similar to a prom in concept except it is more formal with three course meals, beautiful decor and a ton of dancing. It’s a wonderful experience. If you would like to read more about the first ball I attended you can find that in my original Cinderella post.


This was my opportunity to inject glamour into my life again and, dare I say it, I prefer this dress and my make-up to what I wore to attend my own matric ball. I suppose my style has changed slightly since I was an eighteen year old preparing to attend what can only be described as a trial run for my eventual wedding. While I had the same dressmaker making my dress, the same hairdresser styling my hair and the same make-up artist working his magic on my face there was just something about this particular styling I had planned that made it extra special.

Cinderella Again
I had the most beautiful night as well. The venue was absolutely out-of-this world. While my dance was hosted at my school this one was on a beautiful wine estate called Durbanville Hills. It was magical watching the sun set over the Durbanville quarries and what made it even better was that you could see the ocean from the venue. If you have read my blog in the past you are probably no stranger to the fact that I love the sea as if I was born to swim.

Cinderella Again
Other than the spectacular view, the food was amazing and I had brilliant company.
As for the car; I officially want a Maserati of my own since driving in one. Oh my, the idea is beautiful but the reality is that there is still a ton a hard work to be done on my part before I can indulge in such luxuries unless, of course, someone is feeling particularly generous.

Can I get dressed up like this every night, please?

P.S If you would like to see the process of this dress being made you can read part 2 of Having a ball gown made.

Cinderella Again

Cinderella Again

Cinderella Again

Cinderella Again

InstagramΒ –Β Twitter

