Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Having a Ball Gown Made: Part 2

With exactly a week to go before I attend a ball I thought I would share the process of having this dress made as I did previously in my article about the process of having a ball gown made.

While I documented every part of the making of my other ball gown, I forgot to document the first two parts of it being the material shopping and the first fitting where the dress is basically just a “skeleton” for lack of a better descriptive word. I would like to think that I wasn’t being forgetful and just didn’t document that part of having this dress made because I have done it in the past. I did explain that part of the process in my previous post about my other dress though which is linked above. I will, however, share how I found my inspiration for the dress.

When I started looking for ideas for this dress I knew I wanted to wear black so that my partner could easily coordinate with me and so that my outfit doesn’t at all limit him for choice. Wearing black also meant that I wanted something somewhat dramatic and understatedly sexy yet still classic and very wearable. I wanted it to be dramatic in terms of movement but without a train because everyone stepped on the train of my gown last year (I did too) and I wanted a somewhat open back at the very least since an open back dress is one of my major weaknesses when it comes to clothing.

I found a photo on Pinterest of a stunning red dress Taylor Swift wore in a magazine shoot and I was intrigued by the drama that such a simple dress created by just having a slit. I eventually decided that the dress itself was a bit too simple for my liking and, after finding a photo of a breathtaking wedding dress, I decided to incorporate elements of both dresses into the idea for the final design since there were things about both of them I didn’t like.

The photos which inspired this dress:

Having a Ball Gown Made: Part 2

I came to the conclusion that I wanted the bodice of my dress to bare a resemblance to the top of the wedding dress and, since I seldom like the way fitted skirts look on my figure, I decided that I wanted to incorporate the stunning wrap style of the red dress into the skirt of the dress I was having made. I worked with the same seamstress as I did last year for the dress I was wearing in my Cinderella post to bring my ideas to life.

By the second fitting the dress was already coming to life and I could finally see my ideas become a reality. I think that moment of realisation is probably one of my favourites when having a dress made although the dress was still in a very raw state as it was pinned to me and the lace was only part of the bodice by means of pins as well.

Having a Ball Gown Made: Part 2

By the time the third fitting came I was not so convinced anymore. You might be able to tell from my faraway facial expression in the photo because at this point I felt the changes that had been made caused the dress to look a bit too open on the top. There was also something somewhat off about it at that point but since we were very busy with the hem that day I only noticed what it was when I was looking back at the photos from the fitting afterwards. (Lesson learned: always take photos at fittings.) What was off was that the bodice was sitting too high at over my chest so I made a point of phoning my dressmaker the following day and I was glad I did because I was so happy by the next appointment.

Having a Ball Gown Made: Part 2

She had changed the lace placement again and lowered the bodice. At this point I felt like my vision of what the dress would look like had been improved by her skills as a seamstress. The back of the dress was also starting to take shape, however, the dress was still a bit loose on the top which made my dressmaker come up with the brilliant solution of pulling the back in more and using buttons to close it as well as make it more intricate.

Having a Ball Gown Made: Part 2

I was blown away by the results at my final fitting which was just yesterday. My dressmaker helped me to get into the dress so I didn’t see it in the mirror until after it was on properly and I swear my face must have lit up. There is something so perfect about the dress… I almost want to say that I like it more than my beloved blue ball gown from last year.

Having a Ball Gown Made: Part 2

Having a Ball Gown Made: Part 2

That is all for the making of this dress but I will certainly share photos from the actual ball soon after it takes place along with all the details on how it was. I also plan on keeping you updated during the day by means of Instagram stories.

Instagram – Twitter

