Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Maybelline ColorSensational Lipsticks

Ever since trying MAT6 from Maybelline’s Bold Matte lipstick collection and as a long-time fan of their Babylips balms, I have been thoroughly convinced that Maybelline make some of the best lip products in the drugstore.

Review: Maybelline ColorSensational Lipsticks

While on a hunt for a nude lipstick with a friend of mine in mind who has a far deeper skin-tone than my own I drifted to the Maybelline display. I wanted to get a colour which would suit both of us. That is when I found Toasted Brown. The thing about my skin-tone is that I usually look quite sickly in brown-toned lip colours. I was sceptical but I knew it would look stunning on my friend so it came home with me.

I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that the colour didn’t look awful on me. I suspect it’s because this lipstick has subtle rose undertones. I was still not 100% sure about the colour on me but I was in love with the formula. This inspired me to go back the following day and purchase a nude from the line that is more up my street as Tantalizing Taupe is.

Maybelline ColorSensational lipstick in 725 – Tantalizing Taupe

Review: Maybelline ColorSensational Lipsticks

Tantalizing Taupe is a very classic beige nude with very subtle pink undertones. It is the kind of shade that is wonderful if you are as fair as I am because it’s very neutral without washing you out. This is the kind of nude I generally wear on an everyday basis and it’s a good staple shade in any collection.

Maybelline ColorSensational lipstick in 755 – Toasted Brown

Review: Maybelline ColorSensational Lipsticks

When I think of that 90’s brown lip which seems to be incredibly in fashion at the moment this is the kind of colour that comes to mind. As I mentioned in the beginning of this post, Toasted Brown has subtle rose undertones which makes it slightly more wearable if you have a skin-tone similar to mine. I actually really love this colour. I think it could be quite universally flattering no matter your skin-tone.

Overview:

Review: Maybelline ColorSensational Lipsticks

  • These lipsticks are incredibly creamy.
  • They apply smoothly.
  • They feel comfortable and hydrating on the lips.
  • They smell amazing! (They have a scent which I can’t quite put my finger on; I sometimes think it is shea butter and other times I think it’s a mixture vanilla and coco… I am not sure what it is but I love it.)
  • They are pigmented.
  • They last well especially considering how creamy they are.

Review: Maybelline ColorSensational Lipsticks

Would I recommend these lipsticks?

Absolutely! I think they are amazing.

In fact, I can’t recommend them enough. I am almost tempted to say that I like them more than my Rimmel Lasting Finish lipsticks… I think they are on the same level of brilliant though. Well done, Maybelline!

What is your favourite nude lipstick from the drugstore?

InstagramTwitter

