Tags

, ,

Tea with Nadine

When something bothers you it can be incredibly easy to lose sight of what is beautiful in your life. I often do but last week reminded me that there is so much more to life than events which would seem significant to others.

The last while I have felt quite stressed for many reasons but the point is that I struggled to find the light in bad situations which is something I used to be able to do and it was something I took great pride in. I lost sight of how beautiful the little things in life can be.

I realise I am being painfully vague and the reason for that is that I am not writing this post with the intention of stepping on anyone’s toes as I would if I started listing all my stressors; I am writing this post because last week was quite possibly one of the best, most stress-free weeks I have had in a while and nothing that would seem extraordinary to an outsider happened.

It was the first week in ages that I felt genuinely happy through every moment. My week started off like any other week; I had to go to work on Monday. While at work, I felt completely relaxed which hasn’t happened in a while. It was as if I was on a tropical island rather than in an environment where I am actually meant to be busy.

I will say that working with someone you can trust and have a constructive conversation with makes the world’s difference. I was at home from Tuesday to Friday as usual and, again, I just felt more at ease than I have in a very long time.

The weekend came and it was back to work. Other than it not feeling like I was even at work, I got a surprise visit from one of my favourite people in the world on Sunday.

My friend, Zoey, popped into the shop and spent some time chatting to me while my colleague was on lunch. It was honestly the best surprise ever considering I had been missing her half to death. I was lucky enough to be able to spend my lunch break with Zoey too and nothing beats spending time with one of your absolute closest friends.

There were many other moments which were just absolutely perfect but if I get into that I would be typing all day and you would be reading all day. My point is that I went into this week feeling relaxed, happy and like I could take on the world.

There are still amazing people out there who are willing to go that extra mile for you and it is those people who often remind you to appreciate the little things in life when you forget just how beautiful they are.

