Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Closet Confidential Tag

This is traditionally a YouTube tag but, since there is no reason it can’t work as a blog post too, I thought it could be an entertaining post.

  1. What is the oldest item in your wardrobe?

Closet Confidential Tag

I have a few really old items in my wardrobe and I am not 100% sure which of them came first but I have a memory of wearing this pinafore when I was twelve so I suspect it’s the oldest. I still love it and wear it regularly especially when I feel like wearing a preppy-looking outfit. It has a way of making very simple pieces which have been thrown together look very put-together.

  1. What is the newest item in your wardrobe?

_20160520_140748.JPG

My best friend, Zoey, has this way of making a very casual outfit look like she spent hours planning it. Her style is the definition of sporty-luxe. She arrived to fetch me from work in a beanie which looked so amazing on her that, even though I wasn’t necessarily a lover of beanies, I wanted one so I found this lovely burgundy one from Cotton On which is apparently where I spend all my money these days. I have now been converted to a beanie-lover.

(They didn’t have the burgundy version of my beanie on the Cotton On website but if you follow the link these are the same beanies. The colours just differ.)

  1. What is the most expensive item in your wardrobe?

_20160520_140708.JPG

You are probably quite tired of hearing of this dress but it is definitely the most expensive item in my wardrobe and also currently my favourite. This is my matric ball gown which you can read all about in my Cinderella post if you haven’t seen it already.

  1. What is your most loved least expensive item in your wardrobe?

Closet Confidential Tag

I am not usually one to wear tops with any sort of print or picture on but for some reason when I saw this elephant tank top I just had to try it on. Once I tried it on it fit perfectly. It is incredibly flattering. I do really love grey and I also adore tops which narrow towards the shoulders almost like a racer-front. I am not sure if there is a technical term for it, to be honest. It doesn’t matter though because I love this top and I practically live in it.

  1. What is the biggest bargain in your wardrobe?

_20160520_140536.JPG

A few years ago, I was browsing through the rails in a local Forever New shop. They are ridiculously expensive here so I usually just go in there to browse through their clothing because I absolutely adore their clothing. Everything they sell is so very much my style that you would swear I designed everything myself. I found this cape on one of their rails among other items which had been marked down except what was different about this was that it was significantly more affordable. It was marked down from R1000 (Approximately $64 (US) or £44) to R200. (Approximately $13 or £9) Since that price is cheaper than most knitwear and jackets here, I couldn’t resist it. This cape is alpaca wool. It is so warm and I absolutely love it.

  1. What is the biggest waste of money in your wardrobe?

Closet Confidential Tag

I actually have this exact same dress from the exact same shop which I love. If you have been reading my blog for a while it might look familiar to you. It is the same dress as I wore in my Classic Black Dress article which I posted only a month after starting my blog. My mom thought she was doing me a favour by going back to the shop and purchasing another one of the same dress for me since I loved that one so much. While her idea was very sweet and thoughtful, the making of this dress certainly was not. The original was very well made considering what I paid for it and it fitted like a glove especially under my arms where dresses and tops are often too big for me. This one, on the other hand, was too big under my arms even though it was the same size, the seaming was a stitching disaster as it bubbled on the skirt and the hem was uneven. You can see that it is longer on the one side in this photo; it’s not just the angle of the photo. Long story short, I never wore it and, even though my mom was convinced that it could be salvaged, it was just too much of a mess.  Just make sure to examine a garment well before purchasing it for any flaws.

  1. What are your top three current favourite items in your wardrobe?

Closet Confidential Tag

These three items are my go-to pieces at the moment. If you see me out and about, chances are I will be wearing one of these pieces.

Closet Confidential Tag

The first piece is my denim biker-style jacket. My cousin gave this jacket to me and when I first got it I hardly ever wore it. I suppose it was because my style was significantly more girly at that time and I didn’t know how to style it. Now, though, I can’t imagine life without this jacket. You can see me wearing it in my Distressed post.

_20160520_140336.JPG

I love stripes, I love comfortable clothing and these days I absolutely adore wearing simple T-shirts. I practically live in them and this one from Cotton On is the one I wear most frequently. Cotton On’s basic T-shirts are just absolutely amazing and this one I found on the sale. It was the last one so it is actually a size bigger than what I would normally wear but I think that’s what makes it that extra bit amazing. It’s just the perfect T-shirt.

Closet Confidential Tag

I had been on the hunt for a red blazer for ages when I found this one on Mr Price’s online store. If you would like to read more about the online store then you can find out more in my article about my current favourite online store. It was a brilliant price so I had a “Why not?” kind of moment and purchased the jacket. I was very happy with the result because it fitted well and I was happy with the quality of the fabric which is wonderful because I am very particular when it comes to the feel of fabrics. It has become a go-to item. This blazer is still available on the Mr Price store and it is available in different colours too. (The link to the blazer)

If I could add one thing to this it would definitely be my navy slim-fit trousers. I accidentally lost a significant amount of weight recently and they are basically my only pair of trousers which still fit me at the moment so they have been very much appreciated over the past few weeks.

I hope you enjoyed this sneak-peak into my wardrobe. I tag Chanelle from Chanelle Hayley– and Sangeetha from Lifestylebites to do this tag. If I haven’t tagged you and you want to do this tag too, send me a link to your post. I would love to read it, like it and comment on it!

InstagramTwitter

