Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Tea with Nadine

It’s that time of the week again! Sit down, relax and let’s have a chat. (You can read ‘Tea with Nadine: Introduction’ if you have absolutely no idea what I am talking about.) I went on a bit of a rant in my post from Wednesday but on the very day that I had posted my rant, I had just the kind of day I needed to recuperate from my stress. My day on Wednesday was one of those days that just leaves you completely at ease when you think back to all you did and saw in that day which got me thinking about moments which take your breath away.

It is so easy to miss the beauty life has to offer when you are busy running around trying to solve every problem which arises. Life has a way of distracting us from all the things which make the rough journey worth it. For example, think about your drive to work or to whatever commitment you have in your life. When a robot turns red and you realise that you are most likely going to be late getting to wherever you need to go do you get irritated or do you take that time to think about why that might not be such a bad thing? Think about it this way, you could sit there feeling exasperated or you could look around you and admire the architecture around you, you could stare at a beautiful car next to you in wonder or you could laugh at someone who is singing their favourite song at the top of their lungs and dancing away while waiting for that robot to change. It’s a choice. That person singing in their car is embracing the moment they had to do what they wanted to rather than having to apply all their focus to the road. Why can’t you?

I was driving through town with two of my friends on Wednesday and we were stuck in bumper to bumper traffic trying to get to Lion’s Head which we planned to hike. Town here in Cape Town has the most amazing atmosphere. The buildings are mostly old with stunning detailing. Other than that, the city centre is very close to the mountains so you have beautiful peaks as a backdrop to these buildings and the energy in town is phenomenal. It is a place rich with culture, diversity and a strong history. We could have got frustrated with the traffic but instead we blasted music which reminded us of a wonderful holiday we went on together, sang at the top of our lungs, admired the architecture and everything else around us and we had fun.

I suppose it’s possible that we were more relaxed since we had just come from the beach but, either way, when there’s nothing you can do about a situation, you may as well find a way to enjoy it.

My point is that even though it’s easy to forget, there is always something beautiful about a situation. I got to spend a day at the beach with four of my absolute favourite people and then hiked halfway up a mountain with two of them and it was amazing! I have lived in Cape Town my entire life… I have seen many of the views multiple times but it always takes my breath away because of how stunning it is. We didn’t get all the way up the mountain but that’s okay. It’s one hell of a climb and it’s exhausting but, let me tell you, it’s so worth it! The sights I saw even though I only got half way up just made me want to climb further one day when I am more fit and no one gets ill on our journey up the mountain. Yes, I was exhausted but I got to watch Cape Town’s lights slowly but surely coming on. It’s an amazing sight. Each little building looked like a firefly from up there.

The beach I went to with my friends earlier in the day is a beach I have visited often over the past nineteen years of my life but every time my feet sink into that sand and I am looking at Table Mountain as a backdrop to the sea, I still feel that deep emotion that can only come from looking at something impeccable. It’s not just the beauty of the beach but also the moments shared with people you genuinely care about. It is pure bliss. It’s moments like that which make you feel alive and truly appreciate the magnificence of the world.

I felt alive and I was reminded of what genuine happiness feels like. I am not sure it’s possible to feel sad when looking at something that breathtakingly beautiful while with people who make you feel loved even if they don’t tell you they love you. That is what really living is.

Embrace the little moments even if you would normally be irritated by them. Those moments make for beautiful memories.

What takes your breath away?

InstagramTwitter

Some photos from my little adventure on Wednesday:

Tea with Nadine

Tea with Nadine

Tea with Nadine

Tea with Nadine

Tea with Nadine

DSCF6837.JPG

DSCF6852.JPG

Tea with Nadine

Tea with Nadine

