Tags

, , ,

nadine blewett

I’m back! I must say, my five month long sabbatical from blogging was unplanned.

We started having issues with our internet connection in mid-October of last year and have been completely without internet at home since then. With only the internet on my cellphone and no wifi, blogging became impossible. It would have used far too much data if I had attempted to blog from my cellphone and I know I would not have been happy with the result.

Not being able to blog saddened me deeply. It was as if I lost a part of myself when I was unable to blog since it was blogging which made me realise what I really want to do with my life… It taught me what living a passion feels like. I think what upset me the most about not having internet and being unable to blog, however, was not being able to communicate with the lovely people I have met via blogging as well as being unable to read and comment on the articles of all the amazing bloggers I have come across on this little adventure.

Among other disappointments, I didn’t get into the university I wanted to go to and that just about shattered me. For as long as I can remember researching universities, Stellenbosch has been the university I knew I had to attend. It was the one and I knew it was because the very first time I stepped onto that beautiful campus I felt like I was completely at home. I felt like it was where I belonged. Due to my stubborn ways I only applied to that university so now I am taking a gap year which is also driving me nuts because there is nothing which is stimulating my mind at the moment. I work in a boutique over the weekends but it’s not university.

This is all about to change though. We got a brand new internet connection today so from now on I will be living a passion through blogging again, I will keep myself calm by doing yoga in the week and I have just reapplied to Stellenbosch University for next year and, honestly, I feel far more confident this year than I did last year. Although this gap year is testing every bit of patience and sanity I have left, I am grateful that I didn’t get in because I am far better emotionally prepared for trading my lazy high school ways for a fast-paced university lifestyle. This off time has made me realise how much I really want to study further.

I must also mention that I am extremely proud of my end of matric results as I got A’s for both my languages and the rest of my marks were far better than I could have wished for too.

There is so much to catch up on and I think I am going to get all of you lovely readers up-to-date by means of a series of ‘Catch up with Nadine’ articles… I might change the name a bit though. Any suggestions?

I just want to thank everyone who has supported my little blog. This blog is important to me so it really means the world that there are actually people out there reading it too.

With love,

Nadine

P.S. Thank you to Hamed for this lovely photo of me deep in thought at work. You can find Hamed on Instagram.

 

 

