Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Cinderella

I mentioned in my Cinderella is Going to a Ball post that I was in the process of having a dress made for a ball I was attending and promised I would share photos of my dress after the ball. Although it took me a while, I can finally share the dress which has had me running up and down to fittings for the past few months.

Cinderella

I met the loveliest old British lady who makes clothing for a living through a friend of mine who had a dress made by her in the past. I am so happy the making of my dress ended up in the hands of this lady because she isn’t only amazing at what she does but her prices are also so affordable and she is just such a wonderful person that I feel like I want to adopt her into my family. I was especially grateful for this when I heard some of the struggles my friends were going through with the making of their dresses and the exorbitant prices they had to pay.

Cinderella

I must say, with all the pampering during the day before the dance, I want to go through this more often. My day started early in the morning with a hair appointment. There really is nothing better than having your hair washed and styled at a salon. Having my hair done so early meant that I could relax through my other appointments without having to worry about the appointment that would take the longest. Straight after my hair appointment it was time to have my nails done. As a lover of a classic French manicure I can definitely say that it was the best idea to have my nails done rather than rushing and stressing to try and do them myself and then accidentally ruin a nail as I have done in the past when getting ready for an event. My make-up appointment was much later in the day which meant I could take time to take a deep breath and be calm after my nail appointment. My hair, my nails and my make-up all ended up so perfectly. Everything was exactly the way I wanted and the pampering made me feel like an absolute princess.

Cinderella

Once all my appointments were finished I arrived home only 20 minutes before my date arrived. Oh goodness, that part of my evening was a mad rush! I still had a million things to pack since I was staying over at a friend that evening and I still needed to get dressed. Somehow I persevered and descended the stairs 10 minutes after my date’s arrival to find he had this beautiful orchid in hand for me. I was so spoiled with a date who has known me for seventeen years because he knew I wouldn’t want a corsage and got one of my favourite flowers for me instead.

Cinderella

Braving rush-hour traffic was next on the agenda in order to get to our photo-venue as well as the car I was travelling in to the event. I swear that car drives with old family friends are the absolute best because I had such a good laugh on the drive there. Needless to say, this photo is the product of my mother wanting to document every single moment of the event.

Cinderella

The estate where we went to take photos was absolutely breath-taking! There were vineyards and horse stables as far as you could see and huge open spaces between the homes. Other than the perfect venue for photos, the weather was so beautiful on that day. It wasn’t cold, it wasn’t raining; it was just the quintessential evening with my favourite people in the world.

Cinderella

I can’t remember feeling more alive than I did on this evening. It was like the entire day was being absorbed by each sense that I have and I was feeling every single emotion possible. It still feels like a dream, actually. It feels like it was a long and exquisite dream.

Cinderella

Ah, my car for the evening. It was beautiful. I was a bit hesitant about going in this car at first and organising my car was some excitement and a lot of tears. I was originally going in a dark blue convertible Porsche but the car wasn’t really me. Those convertible Porsches remind me a bit of Barbie doll cars and just seem really girly to me and I am not girly in a classic sense. I was elated when I found an Audi R8 to go to the ball in because that car was the mean but beautiful kind of sleek car that I was looking for but that fell through at the last minute and this Porsche came into my life. Since my mom organised it without consulting me I was furious at first but on the evening the car was so perfect and I am so glad it worked out as it did.

Cinderella

I was relatively calm throughout the day until we drove into the gates of my school and our driver for the evening opened my window. Although I could see all these people with the window closed there was still a barrier between me and them but the moment that window opened my heart started beating so fast that I was nearly certain that everyone in the car could hear it beating and my legs turned to jelly. Yes, the tiny people pretending that we are completely at ease walking on that very long carpet happen to be my date and me. I think that was the most never wrecking moment of my entire life but it was amazing at the same time.

Cinderella

The theme of the ball this year was A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I really felt like royalty that evening. I was Cinderella and the ball couldn’t have been more perfect. Although I didn’t meet a prince I got my dress and my night off and it was beautiful.

Cinderella

If you would like to read more about my accessories and my shoes I paired with this dress read my articles on Jewellery for a Special Occasion and Choosing the Right Shoes for an Event.

