Tags

, , , , ,

Why I Love Animals

I must admit that I have had a severe case of writer’s block this past week and when I did feel like shooting an outfit post I didn’t have a willing photographer but the frustration of not being able to write got me thinking about things I really love and I realised I had not really given much attention to how much I love animals so I thought of compiling a post on some of my absolute favourite moments with animals.

Why I Love Animals

This post simply has to start with a photo of Jack since he probably had the biggestย impact on my life. We got him when I was just over a year old so I grew up with him around and he was just such a sweetheart. My mom always called him a gentle giant since he was huge but he really was very gentle and quite possibly the reason why I love big dogs so much. Every moment with him was just perfect.

Why I Love Animals

I met this little angel in 2012 when I flew to Bloemfontein for my brother’s wedding. He didn’t like me very much at first. In fact, he attempted to bite me but we became best friends soon after and I fell in love. I never actually learned his name so I just call him Mr Meercat. (Very inventive, I know. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) He was absolutely adorable!ย I didn’t want to leave him.

Why I Love Animals

Mr Meercat eventually fell asleep on my chest too which, to me, showed that this precious little animal trusted me completely and it was the most wonderful feeling. I remember feeling completely content and like I could stand there forever holding the meercat.

Why I Love Animals

My little Chirpy. I know as a fact that my brother will argue that he is his bird but I just can’t help but love this bird. My brother rescued him when he fell out of his nest and we just couldn’t let him go even though that was the initial plan. He talks now, you see. It’s so cute because he is actually teaching my little niece how to talk, in a way. One of the things Chirpy does say is “There we go” and my little niece has since started saying that too. Chirpy also calls me ‘Deen’ which my niece has started to call me too.

Why I Love Animals

If you know me quite well you will probably know that I don’t actually like cats. I am a dog person without a doubt but for some reason these three mischievous cats (A very accurate description.) managed to creep into some very deep corners of my heart. None of them are my cats but they seem to think differently. From left to right, they are Jasmine, Phoebe and Bubbles. Jasmine is the only one of the cats who has never actually entered our home but she is just so fluffy, beautiful and friendly. My heart just can’t resist her. She is one of the best cats I have ever met.

Phoebe, in the centre, is unfortunatelyย not with us anymore. She really made herself at home in our house. I remember finding her very irritating because she was an incredibly vocal cat and was permanently under our feet as well as on bookshelves even though she knew wasn’t allowed in the house but I learned to appreciate her and eventually loved her very much.

Bubbles was my favourite, by far. He had a home in our neighbourhood but was not looked after properly so he stayed with us most of the time until we found a better home for him. He wasn’t really allowed inside either but we couldn’t resist him. He has this macho attitude but this tiny meow which sounds like a kitten and he is incredibly friendly to humans. What I loved about Bubbles was that if I was coming down stairs to say hello to him he would run up the stairs to come fetch me and make me feel incredibly loved.

Why I Love Animals

Meet Massive. He is an Anatolian Shepard which I met at a cheetah outreach farm here in Cape Town. He was so huge (He really did live up to his name) but he was just the sweetest guy. If I could have adopted him, I would have. He just had the warmest mane around his neck which made it so lovely to hug him and he just stood there enjoying all the attention. He was precious.

Why I Love Animals

On that same day I was lucky enough to meet Joseph, the most beautiful cheetah you will ever see. When you look at cheetahs, they look very soft but I was surprised to find that they actually have course fur. I felt so honoured to be able to be that close to a wild animal. It’s an experience I would recommend to everyone and another moment that made me never want to leave that place. He was so majestic and the detailing of his fur is absolutely magnificent when you get to see it so closely.

