Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Rimmel Apocolips Lip Laquer

I have seen and heard many rave reviews on the Rimmel Apocolips Lip Laquers. For that reason, I have been wanting to try them. About two weeks ago, I found them on sale for about a third of the original price which became a good excuse to get two.

Review: Rimmel Apocolips Lip Laquer

As a lover of bold lips (particularly red lips), Rimmel Apocolips in 400 – Big Bang was the first to catch my eye, however, I saw the nude colour which is 600 – Nude Eclipse and realised that it might be a good purchase since I didn’t own any nude lipsticks at that point in time. I tend to be more willing to spend money on bold colours since they are the loves of my life and make me extremely happy but no make-up collection is really ever complete without a nude. ( Can a make-up collection ever really be complete though? πŸ˜€ )

Review: Rimmel Apocolips Lip Laquer

Nude Eclipse (600) is a subtle peachy-toned nude. It is the perfect every day colour and the sleek packaging makes Apocolips lip laquers easy handbag lipsticks. The applicators on these lip laquers had me quite intrigued. They have a little hollow in the “sponge-like” tip which holds the product once you have removed the applicator from the tube. Apocolips apply quite glossy (like a liquid lipstick) but as they dry they become more of a satin finish so it will add the slightest shine to the lips but without being a gloss which is wonderful if, like me, you are not a fan of lipgloss.

(I apologise for my dry lips. Winter and my skin are yet to make friends. )

Review: Rimmel Apocolips Lip Laquer

Big Bang (400) is a vibrant cherry red, a very me choice of colour. I love how comfortable Apocolips feel on the lips. In my opinion, it feels like I don’t have anything on my lips. Although they aren’t drying, I have found they can sometimes highlight dry patches so I would advise using some form of moisturiser on your lips before applying these. I like to use a thin layer of Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream under them which I make sure to buff very well into my lips. If, like me, you are not exactly very good at applying a bold lipstick then I would advise using a lip liner with the bolder colours of these. I didn’t in this photo but it would have made my life a bit easier.

Pros: Β 

  • The packaging is adorable.
  • The name is brilliant
  • They are really pigmented.
  • They are affordable.
  • They work well as handbag lipsticks.
  • There is a lovely selection of colours in the range.
  • They last long on the lips.

Cons:

  • The bolder colours aren’t extremely easy to apply.
  • They sometimes cling to dry patches.

Overall:

I really love these.

Would I repurchase?

Yes, I most certainly would. The cons are not enough to outweigh the pros.

Review: Rimmel Apocolips Lip Laquer

