Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Choosing the Right Shoes for an Event

I have attended my fair share of events which required wearing heels which has given me an insight into what really works for an occasion where you want to feel extra special in a sky-high pair of shoes but will be spending a lot of time on your feet.

Choosing the Right Shoes for an Event

If, like me, your heart is home to an immense love for heeled pumps then this might come as a bit of a disappointment to you but they are the most impractical option you could ever decide to wear to an event. As beautiful as they look with any outfit, they offer no support to your ankles and feet. Just think about how hard the muscles in your feet have to work to keep them on and then think about what happens to muscles in the rest of your body when you tense them for an extended period of time; they get sore. The same applies to your feet. I have made the mistake of wearing heeled pumps on various occasions where I had to be on my feet a lot and I will absolutely never do it again.

Choosing the Right Shoes for an Event

I bought these stunning shoes from Truworths (a local department shop) the weekend before last. I was on the hunt for shoes for an event which I am attending in October; a ball, to be more specific. I had something very specific in mind so it took months of searching before I found exactly what I was looking for in these shoes. From previous experiences, I knew that I needed something that supports my foot but, as I am fairly short, I wanted something with substantial height. I also knew I wanted the shoe to be black and it couldn’t be too heavy-looking as my dress will be quite soft and flowy with a slight train.

Choosing the Right Shoes for an Event

As you can see from this photo, these shoes are quite high but what makes them so wearable is the fact that they are sort of a sandal-bootie hybrid. Even though very strappy shoes offer more support than a pump-style shoe, they can also cause a lot of swelling in the feet due to the various places they apply pressure on the foot. Peep-toes do the same thing to your toes. The boot-like structure of these shoes distributes pressure more evenly over the foot and, although it has a peep-toe, the peep-toe is wider than most so your toes don’t have that direct pressure from a tiny space which they will attempt to ‘fall’ through, for a lack of a better word. Instead, your foot is held in place and doesn’t have to work as hard. The shoe does the work for you.

Choosing the Right Shoes for an Event

Often, when people buy a pair of shoes for a specific event they want to save that pair of shoes specially for that event. It is a good idea to wear them at least once before the event (even if you just walk around in them around the house) because it just stretches them out a little bit where they might cause blisters or cuts on the first wear. Believe me, this is another mistake I have made before. Whether you are wearing heels, flats or wedges, wearing them before an important event is always advisable, if you get the chance. No one wants to be waddling around like an injured penguin on a special day because they didn’t walk their shoes in first. It’s a simple thing which makes the world’s difference.

Choosing the Right Shoes for an Event

Also, if you can, I would really advise rather spending a little bit more on a shoe than buying a really cheap shoe that looks good. Your budget might be happy but there is a good chance your feet won’t. There is definitely a difference in the feel of the shoe. More expensive shoes tend to be slightly more padded on the inside which helps reduce the impact of the ground on your feet. If you apply physics here; when an object exerts a force on another object, the other object will exert an equal but opposite force on the first object so when exerting a force on the ground, the ground will exert the same amount of force on you so at least cushion your feet a bit more if they are going to take that force especially if that force is exerted over a smaller area such as the ball of your foot when in heels.

Choosing the Right Shoes for an Event

In any situation where you are going to be wearing a shoe that could potentially provide discomfort, antiperspirant deodorants and gel shoe inserts are honestly your best friends and I can promise you that your feet will be thanking you at the end of the evening too. Why antiperspirant? Well, when you apply a small amount to any areas of your feet and ankles where the shoe might chafe against your skin and cause irritation, the deodorant will act as a barrier and reduce the friction between your skin and the shoe which is what causes the irritation. These gel inserts from SOFSOLE are made for the area of the shoe where the ball of your foot will be. It helps to reduce any impact (such as walking) and it really helps to increase comfort. I also find that it really helps to keep my foot from slipping forward in the shoe.

To summarise:

  • Heeled pumps are a bad idea. (Or anything that doesn’t support your foot)
  • Choose a shoe that holds your foot but isn’t too strappy.
  • Break your shoes in by wearing them at least once before an event.
  • Rather spend a bit more when purchasing shoes for an event.
  • Antiperspirant deodorant and gel shoe inserts are your best friends.
