Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Beach Bag Essentials

When what seems like the entire world heads into summer and my side of the world heads into winter it gives me the opportunity to reminisce on my summer days.

I was recently introduced Naja, a reasonably priced luxury lingerie company which makes bras, panties and swimwear, and was inspired to write an article on what my beach bag essentials are. I was immediately drawn to the idea of this post considering the fact that Naja empowers women who are single mothers or heads of the household by teaching them how to sew by means of their Underwear for Hope program as well as the fact that they are an environmentally conscious brand.

A quote from their website:

“Naja is committed to the empowerment of women.

Through our Underwear for Hope program and our partnership with the Golondrinas Foundation in Colombia, Naja trains single or head of household mothers to sew. Naja then employs them so that they can help themselves and their children. When you educate a woman, everything changes.”

Beach Bag Essentials

The bag I am currently using for beach outings as well as more casual outings where a handbag is too much is this lovely canvas tote which I received as a gift from one of my friends. It really carries so much and it is comfortable to wear on your shoulder due to its wide straps.

Beach Bag Essentials

One of the most important products to have in a beach bag is definitely sunscreen. Your skin is the biggest organ you have and it is also your immune system’s first line of defence. It protects you so it is vital to look after it accordingly. I personally use BioNike Defence Sun sunscreen. I find it works so well and it is also suitable for sensitive skin. The lovely thing about BioNike, as well, is that you often get free gifts with purchases such as this beach towel which is so soft and the colour is perfect for a summer day spent close to water. Just as you would protect your skin, protect your eyes as well and wear sunglasses on the beach. I personally never leave home without sunglasses especially if I know I am going to be in the sun.

Beach Bag Essentials

I always keep a little “cosmetic” bag with me that is waterproof when I go somewhere where there is a lot of water, such as the beach, to keep objects which can’t be in water or I want to keep safe from the sand with me such as my phone.

To prevent my phone from getting scratched on anything which is inside the little bag I keep it in a little cellphone pouch which I bought from Forever New a while ago. From the picture above you might think, “Nadine, you are crazy, your phone is bigger than the pouch that you use.” The reason for that is that I bought it when I got my previous phone which was significantly smaller than my current one but it still serves its purpose just as well.

It is essential for me to have some form of moisturiser with me when I go to the beach. I enjoy the Elizabeth Arden Fragrance Free Eight Hour Cream as my moisturising product. I actually can’t leave home without it. I generally use it on my lips but it is a wonderful multipurpose product which just works wonders. If my hands get very dry I use it on them too or a thin layer on any dry patches of skin.

I also always keep a little mirror and some form of colour lip product with me just in case I feel like I want a bit of colour on my lips. I love Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me. Any other little essentials such as my keys or money will also go in this little bag.

As a contact lens wearer I always keep my lens’ container, contact lens solution and eye drops with me in case something goes wrong or my contacts feel uncomfortable so that I will be able to take them out. It is important for me to take my spectacles with too so that I will still be able to appreciate the beautiful scenery properly.

Beach Bag Essentials

I like very simple swimwear. To me, If I can just live in black and white in general then I will be the happiest person alive. This two-piece is actually from two separate bikinis. The benefit of having very neutral swimwear is that you can mix-and-match them as you please. I bought the bottoms shown hear with a matching top but since I don’t always want to wear push-up bikini tops, I bought the one pictured here for a mere R20 on a sale from MRP. It’s really simple which makes it another piece that is perfect to mix-and-match with other swimwear pieces.

Beach Bag Essentials

I tend to also keep a full swimming costume around as well for those days at the beach that I know I am going to want to be in the water the whole time rather than tanning on the sand and quickly cooling off in the water but I like full costumes which have unique detailing such as an open back. This Faye Racerback One-Piece from Naja is a good example of the type of thing I would wear.

Beach Bag Essentials

I always take a change of clothes with me especially if I am going to be in the water. This is outfit will consist of pieces which I can throw on really easily such as loose shorts and a boxy crop top. I have only recently become a fan of crop tops but now I just want more. They are so easy to just throw over with something high-waisted and then you don’t need to worry about tucking it in either.

Another thing that comes with a spare outfit is a change of underwear since it isn’t good to spend an entire day in a wet costume.

Beach Bag Essentials

As someone who would much rather not wear a padded bra, I love little bralettes like this Adriana Bralette from Naja. It is pretty and I can imagine extremely comfortable which would make it the ideal thing for me to take with me for when I change out of my swimming costume. Make sure that extra underwear is a part of your beach bag. You also may want to change if you are going to a restaurant and don’t want to be in a wet swimming costume.

Beach Bag Essentials

I leave you with a beautiful image of my favourite beach here in Cape Town; Clifton’s first beach.

Those are my beach bag essentials. What are yours?

