Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Evening Dress Collection: Part Four

It’s unbelievable that I am already posting the second last installment of my evening dress collection. It feels like I have only just started. This dress, in particular, is one I bought for the first dance of my high school career and here I am now, at the end of my high school career and preparing for my final dance.

Evening Dress Collection: Part Four

I don’t think it would surprise anyone that it is lacy. Lace is practically my signature, I suppose. We are seldom separated especially when evening wear is concerned. It’s quite a simple, classic dress.

Evening Dress Collection: Part Four

I think what might be a little bit surprising is that the top of the dress has sequinned detailing under a layer of mesh. Four years ago, I actually liked wearing shiny things. I loved diamanté detailing on accessories, I loved glittery eye shadow, glossy lips and I was impartial to sequins. I wouldn’t wear this dress now unless it is for some sort of event where I have to dress up in the theme of the 1920’s, for example. It just isn’t me anymore.

Evening Dress Collection: Part Four

It is definitely still beautiful and classic and, because of the memories attached to it, I will never get rid of it. It was also such a bargain! I think I paid about R 175 for it where you normally struggle to find a decent evening/ cocktail dress for under R 500.

Evening Dress Collection: Part Four

I think a part of me knows I am really keeping it for one day when my niece is older and comes to me looking for a dress to wear to a dance so that I will be able to take a little collection of possibilities out for her to choose from and be the hero.  Maybe she can even just play in them. I used to always love playing in my mom’s more formal dresses. (It will also save some money along the way, of course. 😉 )

Evening Dress Collection: Part Four

If you missed it (or would just like to browse through the collection again) here are my previous posts on my evening dress collection:

