Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Warm Smokey Eye

This look started off with me just trying to practice blending eyeshadow with make-up brushes but it turned into a smokey eye. Since I actually really like the results, I thought I would share the products I used and how I achieved this look.

The Warm Smokey Eye

The products and tools:

  • Elizabeth Arden Ultra Lift and Firm Concealer in 2 – Fair (Anywhere I felt I needed a bit of coverage which was under my eyes and around my nose, in this case.)
  • Elizabeth Arden Fragrance Free Eight Hour Cream (My absolute favourite product to prepare my lips – it’s a holy grail product for me) which I used to moisturise my lips when I started the make-up.
  • Essence Eyebrow Designer in 02 – Brown
  • Essence All About Nude eyeshadow palette
  • Essence Quattro eyeshadow palette in 05 – To Die For
  • Woolworths Colour – Eyes – In Bloom eyeshadow palette
  • Essence Longlasting eye pencil in 02 – Hot Chocolate along my lower- and upper waterline and my upper lash line.
  • Clinique High Impact Mascara (See a full review on Clinique High Impact Mascara)
  • Clarins Shine Stopper powder in 10 – Translucent to set the concealer
  • Clinique Blushing Blush Powder Blush – 10 – Precious Posey
  • Essence lip liner – 11 – In the Nude to line my lips and then colour them all over too
  • L’Oréal Collection Exclusive lipstick in Laetitia’s Pure Red which I added unexpectedly after I had already finished my make-up just because I love that lipstick. (Review on Laetitia’s Pure Red)
  • Forever New and Essence make-up brushes
  • UBU eyelash curler

How I achieved the eye make-up look: 

The Warm Smokey Eye

 

I started by taking the second lightest shade of the Essence Quattro palette all over my mobile lid till just above my crease.

Once I had a base, I used the lighter brown in the same palette (the one on the left ) to map out the shape I wanted my shadow to be in.

I decided to wing it out and bring the wing in to just above the crease. (Up to where I put the base shade)

I then blended the very darkest brown of the palette into the outer corner of my crease to add a bit more definition.

I also took the white colour of this palette in the inner corner of my eye on a small brush.

The Warm Smokey Eye

This is the Essence All About Nude palette. I used the plum-like colour in the bottom right corner of the palette halfway over the outer part of my mobile lid by adding small amounts at a time and making sure to blend it with a clean brush each time I added more colour. I also used this purple shade and the darkest brown from the Quattro palette underneath my eyes.

The Warm Smokey Eye

Just to make the make-up slightly purpler, I added the darkest mauve from this Woolworths palette (Far right) through my crease. I just used the smallest amount and made sure it was blended well again.

The Warm Smokey Eye

The Warm Smokey Eye

 

