Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What I Love About My Bedroom

Everyone has a place that feels even more like home than home itself. For some people, that home might even be their home but for me, that sanctuary is my room. I was recently inspired to do a post on what I love most about my room and I look forward to sharing my safe haven with you.

What I Love About My Bedroom

My room isn’t very big but it is everything I could ever want. I chose white, red and silver as my colour scheme after seeing a bedroom with the same colour scheme in a home-improvement magazine. I instantly fell in love. I think these scatter cushions, and the red ones in particular, really add something to the room. The red cushions are my favourite. As I have a north-facing room the sun streams through my window. I often put one of those red cushions on the foot end of my bed and bask in the sun. It’s the most relaxing thing ever, especially considering how much I love the sun. As for my hedgehog, it was a gift from my brother years ago and it hasn’t left my bed since.

What I Love About My Bedroom

When I was looking for a bedside table I wasn’t exactly looking for one with raised sides but now that I think of it, I am so grateful that is what I bought because I can put anything on there without worrying that it will roll off. It’s the perfect spot for odds and ends which I use a lot.

What I Love About My Bedroom

As far as the mix-and-match of white- and deep brown furniture is concerned, I wanted to bring in some warmth to break all the white in order to prevent my room from looking cold.

Of course, there is no better way to warm up a room than to have a huge bookshelf. My bookshelves are arguably my absolute favourite part of my entire room. This one, in particular, is not just any bookshelf. It is also home to my New-Old Book Collection.

What I Love About My Bedroom

You probably think I am crazy and making up terms here and both are probably true but my so called New-Old Book Collection refers to a collection of books I have which look old and/or weathered, as named by my brother. I started collecting old books in 2013, I think, and they have been a huge weakness of mine ever since. I find the look of them to be so beautiful and I love that old-page smell. You can read more about my collection in my article on using old books for decor.

What I Love About My Bedroom

As a lover of candles, I don’t feel any room is complete without them. Especially if you live in South Africa like me and have the risk of your electricity being off for two hours on some evenings due to load-shedding.

Jokes aside though, there are few things that make a room more ambientΒ than the smell of vanilla dancing off bright orange flames.

What I Love About My Bedroom

My floating shelf is where I keep the my more “visually pleasing” books that I want to keep just a little bit more safe than my other books such as my Complete Works of William Shakespeare book which is the stunning book which looks like an old encyclopedia on the right. Those Monroe collages were a birthday gift from my mother since she knows how much I adore Monroe. I think they just work so perfectly above that shelf and somehow tie my entire room together. They are so unusual and I think that’s what makes them that little bit more special.

What I Love About My Bedroom

After seeing my Monroe collages, one of our family friends was inspired and bought this clock for me.

What I Love About My Bedroom

Out of everything in my room, I think my cupboard took the longest to come together since I made all the collages myself and all the sticking of tissue- and wrapping paper in order to get rid of all the plain white but it is certainly the most rewarding. I wouldn’t be surprised if this took more than half a day just to stick everything in and to pack everything and I made the collages over multiple days. It took forever but I love opening my cupboard. Just looking at it makes me feel happy. In case you missed it, you can read about how I went about redecorating my cupboard in my article about personalizing your wardrobe. You can also see more pictures of it there.

What I Love About My Bedroom

If you plan on redecorating your bedroom and are looking for inspiration, blogs, inspiration filled websites such as Pinterest and even shops which sell furniture or bedding (Whether you prefer browsing online or window shopping) such as Parachute or @Home Living SpaceΒ are all brilliant resources to make use of. The world is your oyster with thanks to the invention of the internet.

Now that you know what I love about my bedroom, let me know what you love most about yours. I would love to hear and maybe find some inspiration myself.

