Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Cinderella is Going to a Ball

As I have come to the end of my high school career, I have a ball to plan for. I was asked the other day if it is like a prom and I originally said yes but now that I really think of it, it’s more formal than a prom is portrayed on film and television. It can only be described as a ball. Some might think I am crazy for starting my planning now when my dance is in October but considering the amount of planning that has to be done and the fact that I am having my dress made could make for a stressful event if I wait too long. Planning is key here!

Of course, the fun part is figuring out what I am going to wear. I have been spending hours browsing Pinterest for the perfect dress and I couldn’t find one single idea so I settled on a combination of a few of my favourite ideas which I will work with the seamstress making my dress to incorporate to make the ultimate dress that is me beyond a shadow of doubt.

Cinderella is Going to a Ball

This is a wedding dress as are the rest of my ideas but for some reason I can’t find actual evening gowns which aren’t intended for weddings that I love quite as much as the shapes and details wedding dresses have. They just have that extra wow-factor to them. This is what the top of my dress will look like. I love this neckline so much! I am very fond of sweetheart necklines on strapless dresses but I am not a fan of strapless dresses for evenings where I am going to be dancing a lot. ( I have done it once – never again. I was watching that my dress didn’t slip too far the entire night and it was well fitted. ) I saw this and thought that it’s so ideal because the lace holds the entire neckline up, I won’t have to worry about straps slipping off my shoulders or worry about my dress slipping down because I have no straps at all and, of course, it’s lace. If you haven’t guessed by now, lace and I are quite inseparable.

Cinderella is Going to a Ball

As much as I am a sucker for lace, I am a sucker for an open back. I won’t be having sleeves on my dress but this back is so stunning with it’s subtle detailing, particularly on the small of the back which I will include a close-up picture of under this paragraph. The simplicity of the chiffon skirt is also what I want for my dress. I am not a big fan of huge dresses and chiffon is just the most perfect, elegant fabric so it’s perfect to create that comfortable movement I want and still look absolutely gorgeous. I love that all the detailing will be on the top half of the dress and the rest will be really simple.

Cinderella is Going to a Ball

This detailing is just so perfect.

Cinderella is Going to a Ball

Now, in order to prevent myself from looking like a teenage bride on my last official event of my high school career, I won’t be having a white dress. I have fallen madly, deeply and irrevocably in love with deep blues over the last few months. For the longest time I thought I would have a red dress for my matric farewell since it is, and probably always will be, my favourite colour but my mind has change on account of my relatively recent flirtation with blue after wearing a navy dress to a dance last year. For that reason, my dress for my matric farewell will be the darkest shade of blue on this pallet which I suppose could be described as midnight blue. It’s such a stunning, elegant colour and since I am having a dress custom made, I want something that will still appeal to me in the future if I need an evening gown for some sort of event.

You will be seeing many more posts regarding evening wear and preparing for big events over the next while leading up to my dance in October. I have a series of articles planned where I will be showing you what I wore to previous dances as sort of a trip down memory lane and a depiction of how my taste has changed.

I wish everyone a beautiful Friday and a lovely weekend!

