Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: L’Oréal Pure Reds - Laetitia's Pure Red

I will admit, I didn’t know about this collection until after I bought the lipstick. After searching the internet to find out more about the product I had impulsively bought, it seemed all the beauty world was abuzz with the news of L’Oréal’s Collection Exclusive Pure Reds from their Color Riche range.

Review: L’Oréal Pure Reds - Laetitia's Pure Red

I was first drawn to this product by it’s packaging. I love the “snake skin” finish of the tube and the contrast of that with the rose-gold is just stunning.

Review: L’Oréal Pure Reds - Laetitia's Pure Red

The colour I bought was not the first one I saw but, as a red lipstick lover, I was very intrigued by the fact that the lipsticks in the collection are all the most beautiful reds inspired by the various L’Oréal spokes models. I ended up falling in love with Laetitia’s Pure Red. It’s dark, it’s romantic and unlike any other red lipstick I own. The other colours were beautiful but they were either too close to a colour I already own or they were too light. I ended up being unable to resist this one and it has now become my favourite lipstick in my collection.

Review: L’Oréal Pure Reds - Laetitia's Pure Red

I swatch the lipstick in the shop and I was very impressed with the pigmentation and how easily it goes on.

Review: L’Oréal Pure Reds - Laetitia's Pure Red

Furthermore, I was impressed by the fact that, after I washed my hands with soap and water, there was still a remnant of the lipstick where I had swatched it. Although I couldn’t get it off my hand with soap and water, it wasn’t majorly difficult to get off once I applied it to my lips. I managed to remove it with my normal face cleanser.

 

I actually didn’t realise that this lipstick has a matte finish until I applied it to my lips. Considering I am not a fan of shiny/ glossy lips the fact that the lipstick is matte made me like it even more. It also isn’t really drying.

Since I was in a scientific mood, I ran a little experiment to see how well the lipstick would last if I drank a glass of water with it on. The glass came off second best and looked a bit like it had been bludgeoned to death but the lipstick stayed in place and hadn’t noticeably faded anywhere.

Review: L’Oréal Pure Reds - Laetitia's Pure Red

To summarise, I love this lipstick. It stays in place, glides on easily, doesn’t shine, lasts well and are very affordable. If you are looking for a good matte lipstick which is affordable, this whole collection is for you. There are a variety of beautiful shades as well. I am actually quite tempted to buy them all.

Have you tried any of the Pure Reds collection? What did you think and which one is your favourite?

 

