Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

It has been extremely hot in Cape Town over the past few days. Considering the heat, I have been avoiding heat styling my hair as much as possible in order not to feel like I am being cooked.

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

This first look I discovered by accident, actually. I just quickly wanted my hair out of my neck while I was brushing my teeth the other day so I clipped it into a low bun and when I loosened my hair again, I had these incredibly soft curls which I quite like.

Excuse the redness in my skin here. I had just got out the shower and my skin has a tendency to go quite red before I have applied moisturiser if I have just been in the shower.

The Products:

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

  • GHD Straight and Tame Cream with Heat Protectant
  • TRESemmé Oil Elixir for all hair types

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

Once I have towel dried my hair, I apply the GHD cream all over my hair starting on the length and then taking the little bit left on my hands through my roots. I do the same with the oil elixir straight after.

I then comb through my wet hair to spread the products more evenly.

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

Once I have combed the products through my hair, I split my hair and take the parting to the opposite site to which it naturally falls to create more volume at the crown.

I only slightly dry the top of my hair since it is slightly frizz prone at times but I make sure to keep the length of my hair wet.

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

This step is entirely unnecessary. I only do it because I have very fine, flat hair and I am yet to find/ buy a volumising product to use so it just adds a little bit of body.

I take a round brush under a small section of hair right next to my face on either side and I blow-dry up and outward. Again, I make sure not to dry the length of my hair but only get the worst of the wetness off.

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

Once that is done, I bunch my hair together at the base of my neck and I twist it into a bun.

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

I clip it to keep it in place and then finish getting ready while I let my hair settle in place. This doesn’t take long at all. You could leave it for longer but I think I left mine for about five minutes and the curls lasted all day with no hairspray.

This bun doesn’t need to be neat. You are going to loosen it in a bit anyway.

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

There you go! It ends up looking something like this.

Since the day I wore this look and the day I took the photos for the tutorial were on two different days, and for different occasions, I felt like I wanted a bit more curl on the day I photographed the tutorial so I did something else after I took all the photos.

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

It ended up looking like this.

My hair was still a bit wet after I finished with the tutorial photographs. Since I didn’t feel like wearing it exactly like I had the day before, I clipped it into a much higher bun for while I was still doing my make-up.

I followed these steps from my article about creating a ballet bun: (I didn’t dry and straighten my hair though)

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

This is a style I often do without any heat at all. If I don’t feel like drying my hair, which is the case most days lately, I just towel dry it and clip it up like this and once it is dry, I loosen it and have soft curls.

Quick and Easy Curls: Little to No Heat

Does anyone have suggestions for affordable but good volumising products?

