Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Memory Lane

With my eighteenth birthday just around the corner, I thought I would take you, my readers, with me on a trip down memory lane with a few photographs which I feel define who I am and have become over the last few years of my life.

Memory Lane

Let’s start with a picture of ten year old me who thought those awful sunglasses were the most brilliant thing. The reason this picture is so significant is that it shows that I have always had a great love for the beach even when I was much younger and the background with Table Mountain and the ocean is just picture perfect.

Memory Lane

I must have been about eleven here. I used to love cuddling with my dog. He used to treat me like his puppy and I loved him with all I am. That couch in particular was his couch.

Memory Lane

I mentioned in my post about feeling goodΒ that I used to be a lot thinner than I am now but at that point in time all I wanted was to be thinner. This picture defines me in the sense that a little while ago when I was going through old photographs again, it is one that made me realise how horribly thin I really was and how much healthier I look now. In this photo, my clothes are swimming on me and I really am basically only skin and bone. I am glad I have a little more weight on me now.

Memory Lane

That brings me to the very first school dance I ever attended. In my last year of primary school we had a dance every term and the very first one was a masquerade. I still have that mask and the ticket. I will never forget how awkward we felt in the beginning and then how much fun we had towards the end.

Memory Lane

My very first day of high school. In the new grade eights’ first week, my school has an orientation week where they select a theme and then the grade eights have to dress up according to that theme for the whole week and then we have a ceremony at the end of that week where we are given our blazers and officially become part of the school. In my year, the theme was to dress up as babies which is why I had pigtails. I wasn’t in my full attire in this picture though. We wore cardboard bibs with more information about ourselves on and make-shift nappies on our heads. I used a white towel, if I remember correctly. Those were brilliant memories and it was the start to the best years of my entire life. To think I only have six months of school left once I go back in January. I will definitely miss my high school. I love it so much.

Memory Lane

Ah, the days I still had braces. As you can see in the first picture, I was very self-conscious of them. That photo was taken approximately nine months after I initially got them. It’s from my first dance I attended in high school. The second picture was taken on the night of my second high school dance. It was approximately a month before my braces were taken off and what I like about these photos is that it shows just how far I had come by then in terms of not caring what others think as much anymore.

Memory Lane

My ballet days. I still miss getting ready for a show and just the dancing in general. It’s something I will always love with an undying passion even though I am no longer attending classes. Some of the most amazing memories, wonderful people I have met and growth experiences have come from my years of dancing so they definitely define me.

Memory Lane

The fact that these three photos are black and white is just so purely me. There is something about a black and white filter that just gives a picture so much more character, in my opinion. The colours could be imagined however you want to imagine them. All you really know about the colours in a black and white photograph is where the shades would be darker and lighter. It’s sort of like a novel but in the form of photographs in the sense that the colours are as much of a matter of opinion as the appearance of a character in a novel is.

Memory Lane

This is so typical. I love trying on beautiful dresses and it doesn’t matter how much of a state my hair is in, if I feel like trying on something eternally glamorous, I will. The back of this dress is absolutely stunning. If you didn’t know already, I go nuts for dresses with open backs so this picture defines me in two ways, really.

Memory Lane

These are three of my very special friends. Days spent with these women are always brilliant days filled with laughter and I have known them all for years. Respectively, I have known these three for seven and twelve years.

Memory Lane

I have only known this special person for about three years and we have only recently really become very close but already, she has been at my side through every emotion I have experienced over the last while whether it was good or bad.

Memory Lane

This is my baby-bird, Chirpy. He is a starling who fell out of his nest as a baby. My brother rescued him and raised him with the intention of setting him free when he was strong enough but once he started talking we couldn’t say goodbye. Since my brother didn’t have the space for Chirpy once he moved out, he still stays with my mother and I and I love him to bits.

Memory Lane

This picture is a perfect representation of me. I am quite serious very often but I seldom give up on an opportunity to embrace a child-like side within myself. This photo was taken when the twins and I volunteered to paint classrooms at a school.

Memory Lane

This is a picture of my little niece holding my hand from not too long after she was born. I think her birth was a defining moment for me. Over the last few years I didn’t have much of a maternal bone in my body at all. I was convinced that I never want children of my own but on the day of my niece’s birth I had to be at school to write an English language exam so my phone was off the whole day. When I put it on to find pictures of her, I actually cried happy tears. It was so unbelievable to me that someone could be so tiny and perfect. From the first time I held her, I knew I wanted to have a child of my own one day.

Memory Lane

How beautiful is this view over the Waterfront? I took that photo from inside the Cape Wheel on a very overcast Cape Town day. There was light drizzle and the oceanic breeze had a slight chill to it but what I love about this picture is that Cape Town looks so beautiful even when the weather isn’t favourable which is one of the reasons I love it here so much. If you are wondering what the Cape Wheel is, sort of on the same principle of the London Eye, Cape Town also has a giant ferris wheel which looks over the city which is in the picture to the right. The views are so stunning from up there. It’s truly an unbelievable experience especially since the waterfront is right by the ocean.

Memory Lane

Last but certainly not least, I live for these moments with the twins. It’s a tradition of ours to have sleepovers where we generally have movie marathons. I have one of those friendships with them where we laugh uncontrollably for no real reason and if there was a hint of a reason when we started laughing, we would have forgotten what it was the moment we are able to sort of start breathing again after laughing. This picture is one of my favourite pictures ever with them because it’s so us. If I remember correctly, we came to the conclusion after their mom asked us to pout for a picture that we really are terrible at pouting and we burst out laughing every time we tried again. I literally look like I am crying and it’s just so hilarious. I laugh whenever I see this photo.

I hope everyone enjoyed something a bit different and particularly enjoyed the walk with me down memory lane. I really enjoy doing these types of posts where you are able to get to know me a little better.

