Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My Hair Routine

This is the finished look of my hair and make-up from the other day which can also be seen in my latest outfit post. I thought I would do a post on how exactly I went about styling my hair that morning. The routine I followed in this post preluding tying my hair up is also how I would go about styling my hair most days.

This look was very simple but I quite like simple and effective things. This is a quick and easy method of keeping your hair out of your eyes without sacrificing the look of the end result.

My Hair Routine

After washing my hair, I always apply these two products. I first apply the GHD Straight and Tame Cream with Heat Protectant all over my hair and comb it through. The TRESemmé Oil Elixir for all hair types gets applied to the length of my hair, not by my roots. Once I have applied both products, I will comb my wet hair once more before starting to dry it.

My Hair Routine

These are my tools. This glass plated Vidal Sassoon straightner has lasted forever. I got it when I was eleven and it still hasn’t let me down. I have had other straightners in between but I always end up reaching for this one.

Since my hair has a tendency to frizz and get quite static, I was quite excited with I saw this bamboo brush a little while ago. Since plastic is a material which can be charged by static electricity and friction is created between your hair and brush when you brush your hair, it made sense that my hair was particularly static with my previous brush as the bristles were plastic. This little brush has been working so wonderfully. I absolutely love it.

My Hair Routine

This is just a picture of me while drying my hair. It was quite dry at this point already although the back was still wet. That always seems to be the last part of my hair to dry. Since my hair is still natural in this picture, you can see how much the GHD and TRESemmé products really help for frizz-control.

My Hair Routine

This was once I had straightened and brushed my hair out. There isn’t a major difference between my hair when it is straightened and when it is natural but it’s more shiny and sleek when it’s been straightened.

Another reason I like to still straighten it is, although you can’t see it in any of these photos, my hair flicks up like a little duck tail at the back sometimes when it is still natural. Straightening it makes it easier to work with.

My Hair Routine

I used these clips for the ballet bun. I think I used a total of four in my hair for this look. Sometimes I need more to hold it in place and sometimes less. It all depends on what my hair is like during the day. These clips are all you will need. You could use an elastic to tie up your hair first but I just use my hands to hold it in place. It’s not necessary for an elastic, really.

My Hair Routine

I thought this would be a good tutorial to do since I am often talking about wearing my hair in a ballet bun and it is so easy to do. I start by brushing my hair into a high ponytail as seen in the picture above.

My Hair Routine

I then start twisting my hair into a bun. Once I am satisfied with the bun and have tucked stray hairs that might be sticking out due to layered hair pieces underneath the bun, I start clipping it.

My Hair Routine

This is the finished look from the side.

My Hair Routine

This is the finished look from the top. At this point, I only had two clips holding it in place but I felt it needed to be more secure which is why I added more.

