Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

DIY: Personalise Your Wardrobe

After painting out my cupboards before moving into my new room, I faced the dilemma that it felt like they looked a bit empty. It quickly became my mission to make them seem that much more like me.

I love collages. I think they are absolutely stunning. There are just so many ways in which you can use it to get different effects. Moving to another room in the house as a slightly older human being and being the proud owner of new wall decor meant I no longer wanted to have my collages up on my walls but, of course, I still loved them so I found a home for them in my cupboard which felt somewhat empty.

DIY: Personalise Your Wardrobe

This is an example of one of my cupboard doors which I added collage to. Most of these are large poster boards which I pasted pictures onto rather than sticking millions of tiny pieces to the inside of my cupboard. As someone who is quite sentimental, I added some photographs which hold special memories between my fashion and beauty related collages.

DIY: Personalise Your Wardrobe

These three women are at the top of this door because I think, if I ever credited anyone for being my style icon, Grace Kelly, Gabrielle Chanel and Audrey Hepburn would be on the top of that list of fashion influences. The cardboard star is a very special note from a good friend of mine which always makes me smile when I read it which is why the star is among my style stars.

DIY: Personalise Your Wardrobe

This calendar came about when my mother brought home a generic calendar you get for free at supermarkets at the beginning of new years. The calendar didn’t suit my fashion theme so I made another collage to stick the months of the year which I had cut out onto.

The beautiful rose hook to the right was a gift from a friend which I absolutely loved and had to find a good spot for. The lace black bow at the top of the hook didn’t come with it. The bow actually came off a headband which I accidentally broke but I thought it looked quite beautiful with the nearly vintage look of the hook and the jewellery I had put on it. I just secured the hook and the bow to my cupboard door with a drawing pin which I hammered into the door.

DIY: Personalise Your Wardrobe

This is my favourite shelf in my cupboard and that likely has something to do with the fact that it is home to all my little perfumes. I also had the most fun decorating this shelf and finding a layout which I loved. All I used was thin tissue paper on the sides and the floorΒ of the shelf and wrapping paper in the back of the shelf with another one of my collages.

DIY: Personalise Your Wardrobe

For a lack of space when it came to packing my shoes, I decided to pack the shoes I wear the most or are most loved on this side of my wardrobe where they will stay organised while the shoes I wear a lot less such as my running shoes, sandals and slippers are on the other side in a state of organised chaos.

DIY: Personalise Your Wardrobe

This shelf is just where I keep some photographs, magazines and books which I don’t have space for on the main bookshelf in my room.

Basically, this is an affordable way to make a space feel more like it belongs to you. There are a million different themes and styles you can go for. It is also easily removable although it does take ages to decorate like this. (I have no intentions of moving my posters anytime soon.)

All that I used were things that I already had lying around. You could really get away with not spending any money on this at all.

