Tags

, , , , , , ,

Destressing

It is always said that exercise is good for a number of reasons but when our busy lifestyles catch up to us, exercise is the one thing which is often neglected.

I am just as guilty of skipping exercising when I am stressed out as the next person but, truth be told, this is possibly one of the worst decisions to make when stressed.

Exercising releases endorphins which are highly beneficial when time seems to  be out running you as they are feel-good hormones. Whenever I exercise, I feel euphoric afterwards which always calms me down.

Today I have to study maths, biology and three units of chemistry which definitely makes me feel like I don’t have enough time to finish everything and it becomes stressful. That is why I decided to go for a run and I feel so much better. It just shows me how I should prioritise.

My head feels clear, I am relaxed and I also feel like I could conquer the world. When stressed, we often, as humans, procrastinate and will rather sit wasting time than tackle what it is we need to do head on but we often spend it engaging in activities that won’t benefit us in any way. Exercising benefits us physically and mentally. If we feel good about ourselves, we become more confident and when we become confident, we excel.

Exercising is also extremely good if your blood pressure is low. I struggle with feeling light-headed and tired in the heat because my blood pressure drops but the increased blood flow when exercising carries more oxygen rich blood to my brain which relieves the light-headedness. There is no better feeling than putting in earphones and playing your favourite music at top volume while increasing the blood flow to your brain.

This doesn’t mean you need to be absolutely insane like I am and go for a run in summery weather. Even a walk is extremely beneficial.

Destressing

Destressing

