Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

wardrobe essentials

There are always a few items in a wardrobe that a woman always grabs first when the time comes to find something to wear. These are the five items I feel are essential in any wardrobe.

1. The LBD (Little black dress)

The little black dress is probably the most versatile clothing item to have. They are the dresses that can easily be changed from a daytime look to an evening look by just adding a pair of heels or changing your jewellery. Black is also an extremely flattering colour no matter your figure or your nationality. What I truly adore about my dress pictured below is that I can wear it no matter what season it is. I bought it in the middle of December last year which is summer here in Cape Town. Since then I have managed to create styles with it to wear in autumn (fall), winter and spring as well.

wardrobe essentialswardrobe essentials

Little black dresses also don’t need to be plain. They come in all different shapes and styles to suit anyone’s tastes. Pictured below is another one of my LBDs. This one has a lace overlay and pleather trimming which adds a slightly edgier twist to the classic black dress.

wardrobe essentials

wardrobe essentials

2. The Cardigan

You can’t go wrong with a cardigan. It is perfect if you just want something light to throw over your shoulders and they are so readily available in an abundance of styles. They just seem to never go out of fashion. They just get recycled continuously to embrace new trends but I have not lived through a time without a cardigan in sight.

wardrobe essentials

3. The Blazer

I have been a huge fan of blazers since I first learned how much I love fashion. A blazer can make any outfit look classy and is wonderful for when you want to dress your ensemble up slightly but not look like you are attending a red carpet event. You might notice a recurring theme in terms of the colours of my wardrobe essentials; I am obsessed with black, red and white. They are the three colours I wear the most- black and red in particular.

wardrobe essentials

wardrobe essentials

4. A Neutral Dress

A dress in a neutral colour can make you look so put-together and elegant. It is another item that can be transferred from a daytime look to an evening look. For an evening look, I love pairing my neutral dress with pearls and a pair of nude heels. If I want to wear it during the day, I usually wear it with a pair of ballet flats. Neutral dresses are appropriate for just about any event which makes them a wonderful piece to have in your collection.

wardrobe essentials

wardrobe essentials

5. Black Trousers

This is a piece that can be worn with nearly any shirt. There are styles available for every shape and size and is the perfect item to have if you want to look professional. This pair, in particular, is a recent purchase of mine. I adored that the legs were straight cut since pants that even have a slight flare to them make my hips look out of proportion with the rest of my body. I also loved the pleather trim over the pockets. Even though I seldom follow trends, I liked that it just had that subtle detailing to add something a new to conventional black trousers.

wardrobe essentials

wardrobe essentials

