Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DIY: Using Old Books for Decor

A bookshelf can warm the appearance of any room no matter how open it is or how pale the colouring of the room is. I have always been extremely fond of books, which is probably the reason my “new-old” book collection came to be in existence.

DIY: Using Old Books for Decor

If you are wondering what on earth a “new-old” book collection is, it is the name my brother gave to a collection of books which were once well-loved, and have that beautiful old, vintage look to them, after I started collecting them. I have always been intrigued by the tall shelves with old-looking books that you see in the background of scenes shot in the offices of lawyer or the chambers judges in movies. It just adds so much character to a room. Mix my approval of fictional bookshelves and my love for books in general, especially old ones, and you have the start of a collection which requires a special, made-up name.

DIY: Using Old Books for Decor

It all started with one of my teachers who was throwing out a load of old books which were in her classroom. She told us that we were welcome to take whichever books we wanted and as many as we wanted. I think I took six books that day. They were all beautiful and they looked aged and well loved. This happened again a little while later and I took more books. These books were mostly German poetry books and little story books printed in a beautiful calligraphy. I simply couldn’t resist these books which seemed to hold endless memories between their weathered pages.

DIY: Using Old Books for Decor

Finding a proper place to put these books was the real challenge. I knew I didn’t just want to put them in a cupboard to be forgotten; they were too beautiful. I made space on the big bookshelf in my room and arranged them in descending heights. I was very impressed with the decorative quality these books possessed. It is such a lovely, simple way to decorate a room and give it some character. For those reasons, I don’t think I will ever stop collecting old books.

Tip: Old looking books could also be found in second hand book shops.

Some books are even made to have that old, expensive look. I own a book of The Complete Works of William Shakespeare which also looks old because of the way it’s bound and i bought it as a brand new book about a year ago so purchasing new books which have old fashioned binding is also an option.

