Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

French twist

My usual go-to style for a formal event would be long, loose waves cascading over my shoulders and back but since I took the most daring step of my life just two weeks before one of these events by cutting my long locks into a longer length bob, wearing my hair like that was no longer an option.

I decided that I would just wear my hair loose and straight since that was my new trusted hairstyle as I hadn’t had the time to experiment with it nearly enough to be confident in trying something new to an event which I knew would consist of many photos. I remembered that when my mother’s hair was still a similar length to what I had cut mine to, she used to wear her hair in a French Twist. After a few failed attempts, we realised that it worked best when my hair was properly blow-dried and straightened.

French Twist 3

Here is how I achieved the final look:

  1. I shampooed and conditioned my hair using the TRESemmé Keratin Smooth shampoo and conditioner.
  2. As my hair gets extremely static and has a tendency to have fly-away hairs, I applied GHD Style Straight and Tame Cream with heat protectant and TRESemmé Oil Elixir for all hair types and then combed them through my hair. I truly adore both of these products and I would definitely recommend them.
  3. I then blow-dried my hair with a medium sized blow-drying brush and I straightened each layer once it was dry. (Tip: with a bob it adds style to the bob if you curl the tips inwards towards your face.)
  4. For the French Twist you will only need a hair brush, hairspray and either hair pins or hair sliding hair clips.
  5. You start the French roll by pulling your hair together at the base of your skull in your hands and you start to roll that hair together and bring it upwards.
  6. By the time you are approximately halfway up your head with the roll, you can start tucking the hair you rolled underneath the rest of your hair and start pinning it in place.
  7. Once all your hair is pinned, you can then spray whichever hairspray you want to hold your style in place.

French twist

For additional information on my outfit and accessories worn in this post, see my articles on choosing the perfect evening dress and accessories for a night out.

